Alexa+ vs Town
How the two compare on price, platforms, what they can act on and how they ask before acting. Facts come from each agent's sources page.
| Alexa+ | Town | |
|---|---|---|
| Maker | Amazon | Town.com, Inc. |
| Cheapest paid plan | $19.99 per month (free for Prime members) | Starter: $15/mo, billed monthly |
| Free tier | Yes: included with Prime; a free text chat on Alexa.com and the Alexa app with usage limits; free on compatible Fire TV devices for US customers | Yes: 30 chats per month and the Weekly Briefing routine, with no custom routines or triggers; a 7-day Pro trial at signup |
| Platforms | Echo devicesFire TVAmazon Alexa TabletsWebiOSAndroid | WebiOSmacOSEmailSlackWhatsAppTelegramSMS |
| Can act on | Smart homeCalendarShoppingRestaurant reservationsFood and grocery deliveryMusicEmail forwarding | EmailCalendarFilesBrowserMessagesCodeCRM and work apps |
| Approval model | Not stated in detail. Amazon says Alexa+ can complete some web tasks behind the scenes without supervision, and On Screen Intelligence on Alexa Tablets is off by default and needs an opt in. | By default it asks before it sends or changes anything; users can ease approvals per action, pre-approve email recipients, and let it finalize calendar bookings or scheduling replies without asking. |
| Launched | Feb 26, 2025 | Not stated |
| Last update | Oct 8, 2026: Amazon Alexa Tablets with Alexa+ built in | Sep 30, 2026: Town 2.0 |
See sources on the Alexa+ and Town pages.
Track both every week