Microsoft Copilot vs Rene
How the two compare on price, platforms, what they can act on and how they ask before acting. Facts come from each agent's sources page.
| Microsoft Copilot | Rene | |
|---|---|---|
| Maker | Microsoft | Second Enlightenment Limited (operated by Marumaru, LLC) |
| Cheapest paid plan | $19.99/month (Microsoft 365 Premium, US) | Not stated |
| Free tier | Yes: free Copilot chat within usage limits; agents and multi step tasks need a Microsoft 365 subscription | Yes: free to start, no credit card required (included usage not stated) |
| Platforms | WebWindowsmacOSiOSAndroid | iMessageWhatsAppTelegramiOSWeb |
| Can act on | BrowserEmailFilesCloud storageWindows settings and apps (announced for Copilot+ PCs) | EmailCalendarBrowserShoppingMessagesCodeWork apps (Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub) |
| Approval model | Microsoft says Copilot asks for approval or hands control back before sensitive actions, and users can stop, pause, take control of or delete a task. On Windows, local context and actions are described as working with the user's permission. | Its FAQ says it can draft the next step and asks before anything sensitive is sent or changed; the founder's launch post says it always asks before it pays. |
| Launched | Sep 25, 2026 | Sep 16, 2026 |
| Last update | Oct 7, 2026: Copilot gets Windows hybrid intelligence | Sep 17, 2026: iOS app version 1.1 |
See sources on the Microsoft Copilot and Rene pages.
Track both every week