Rene vs Town
How the two compare on price, platforms, what they can act on and how they ask before acting. Facts come from each agent's sources page.
| Rene | Town | |
|---|---|---|
| Maker | Second Enlightenment Limited (operated by Marumaru, LLC) | Town.com, Inc. |
| Cheapest paid plan | Not stated | Starter: $15/mo, billed monthly |
| Free tier | Yes: free to start, no credit card required (included usage not stated) | Yes: 30 chats per month and the Weekly Briefing routine, with no custom routines or triggers; a 7-day Pro trial at signup |
| Platforms | iMessageWhatsAppTelegramiOSWeb | WebiOSmacOSEmailSlackWhatsAppTelegramSMS |
| Can act on | EmailCalendarBrowserShoppingMessagesCodeWork apps (Slack, Notion, Linear, GitHub) | EmailCalendarFilesBrowserMessagesCodeCRM and work apps |
| Approval model | Its FAQ says it can draft the next step and asks before anything sensitive is sent or changed; the founder's launch post says it always asks before it pays. | By default it asks before it sends or changes anything; users can ease approvals per action, pre-approve email recipients, and let it finalize calendar bookings or scheduling replies without asking. |
| Launched | Sep 16, 2026 | Not stated |
| Last update | Sep 17, 2026: iOS app version 1.1 | Sep 30, 2026: Town 2.0 |
See sources on the Rene and Town pages.
Track both every week